COVID-19 Info: 

We are scheduling vaccinations for those who are eligible. Learn more:

 

BLS for Healthcare Providers

Instructions

​​​The University of Washington School of Medicine requires that, before the start of classes, you complete an AHA-approved course in BLS for Healthcare Providers (also known as Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers). You can find a class in your area by visiting the American Heart Association website.

Current students

One organization in Seattle that frequently trains our students is the Cascade Training Center. To receive the UWSOM discounted rate through Cascade, instructions provided in your compliance reminder email.

In accordance with the compliance policy in the Student Handbook, CPR/BLS certifications must be renewed every two years and must be renewed prior to the six-week block in which they expire.

Note: Please note: ACLS, PALS, NRP, EMT, or other certifications do not substitute for Healthcare Provider level BLS certification. Online-only courses are not accepted. AHA endorsed online courses must also include an in-person skills test.

Instructions for checking your compliance due dates on Evalue​

Incoming first-year students

Complete BLS (CPR) Healthcare Provider Training Complete BLS (CPR) Healthcare Provider Training. All incoming first-year students will be required to complete BLS training prior to starting Immersion/Orientation. Upload your e-Card to your Castlebranch account prior to August 15th. If BLS training is a required activity at your site during orientation/immersion your deadline for uploading your e-Card to Castlebranch will be September 10th.

If you have questions regarding your BLS training or Orientation, please contact your orientation/immersion program administrator. 

Foundations Campus Contacts

Washington, Seattle
Contact: Ashley Russell, russea@uw.edu

Washington, Spokane
Contact: Erin Van Antwerp, etwerp@uw.edu or Robin Ferry, ferryr@uw.edu

Wyoming
Contact: Marivern Easton, measton3@uwyo.edu

Alaska
Contact: Nancy Hall, njhall@uaa.alaska.edu

Montana
Contact: Kayla Ouert, kayla.ouert@montana.edu

Idaho
Contact: Marlane Martonick, marlanem@uidaho.edu or Whitney Vincent, wvincent@uidaho.edu