Inventor of the Year

Call for Nominations

​We are pleased to announce the call for nominations for the 2018 UW Medicine Inventor of the Year Award. This annual award recognizes an established individual who has translated his or her research from the bench, through partnerships with the biomedical industry, to a product or process that has had a major impact on healthcare. The Inventor of the Year receives a $5,000 honorarium.

For each nomination please forward the nominee's C.V. and a letter of nomination that specifically addresses their accomplishments and contributions as an inventor to the Office of Research and Graduate Education at​ Nominations must be received by ​March 27, 2018.



DUE to the Office of Research and Graduate Education 


March 27, 2018

Criteria & Selection Process

Each year the Inventor of the Year Selection Committee solicits nominations from Department Chairs and Administrators. Nominations are then reviewed based on the following criteria:

  • Number of lives saved or improved.
  • Biomedical impact of the invention.
  • ​Contribution to the bioscience sector.
  • Contributions to the UW CoMotion mission to extend the impact of University of Washington research through the creation of partnerships that encourage investment in innovation.
  • Contributions to UW School of Medicine faculty community.

Previous Award Winners

The Inventor of the Year Awards honor outstanding UW research scientists whose innovations have had a major, positive effect on both healthcare and our local economy. The 2017 Inventor of the Year Awards honored Christy McKinney, Ph.D., MPH and Michael Cunningham, M.D., Ph.D. for their collaborative work inventing the NIFTY Cup. The NIFTY cup has the potential to help 15 million infants who are born with breastfeeding difficulties each year worldwide.

They join many other exemplary research scientists also honored with an Inventor of the Year Award.

See the complete list of Inventor of the Year Award recipients since 2004: Inventor of the Year 2017-2004 (PDF)​​

See a complete list of Lifetime Innovators whose legacy impacts future generations of research: Lifetime Innovators thru 2015 (PDF)


If you have any questions about the Inventor of the Year Awards please contact Meris Mullaley at or 206.221.5807.​​