COVID-19 (coronavirus) Information

We’re committed to creating the safest possible environment in our hospitals and clinics.
Patient safety | Care and services | Visitor policy

 

​This two-day multidisciplinary conference occurs annually at the end of September and highlights current issues in trauma care throughout the continuum: pre-hospital, emergency, critical care, acute care and rehabilitation. Nationally recognized speakers and local experts in trauma care will present topics pertinent to nurses, physicians, paramedics, social workers, program managers and other healthcare professionals.

Click here to download a PDF of the schedule.

Day 1: Monday, September 14th, 2020

​0700-0745

Registration and Breakfast with the Exhibitors

0745-0800

Welcome

Paul Hayes, RN
Executive Director, HMC

0800-0845

Preventable Death after Injury: How can we make an impact?

Brian Eastridge, MD
eastridge@uthscsa.edu

0845-0930

Implementation of a Pre-hospital Whole Blood Program

Eric Epley
eric.epley@strac.org

​​0930-0950

Break and Coffee with the Exhibitors

0950-1035

Lessons Learned from Global Trauma System Development

Barclay Stewart, MD
barclays@uw.edu

1035-1120

Family Centered Care during EMS and ED Pediatric Resuscitations

Mary Fallat, MD
mary.fallat@louisville.edu
1120-1230 Lunch
1230-1600 Break Out Sessions (See Below)
 

Day 1 Break Out Sessions

1230-1330

Implementation of a Regional Disaster System in Texas

Eric Epley, MD

1330-1345

Break and Dessert

1345-1445

 

Optimizing an approach to Pediatric Care In The Field When Death Is Certain, Case Presentations

Mary Fallat, MD

​1445-1500

Break

1500-1530

Pre-hospital whole blood: What have we learned? The Seattle Experience

Betty Yang, MD
byyang@uw.edu

Catherine Counts, PhD
crcounts@uw.edu

1530-1600

Current concepts in prehospital cardiology

Dana Yost MICP
dana.yost@me.com

1230-1300

Penetrating Torso Injury: Managing Clinical Challenges to Optimize Survival

Brian Eastridge, MD

1300-1330

Management of Crush Injuries

Joe Cuschieri, MD

1330-1345

Break and Dessert

1345-1415

What's new in Sepsis Management

Dan Henning, MD
henning2@uw.edu

1415-1445

 

What to know about Direct Oral Anticoagulants compared to Warfarin and their reversal

Christopher Barnes, MD
barnesc@uw.edu

​1445-1500

Break

1500-1530

The Pros and Cons of Rib plating

Grant O'Keefe, MD
gokeefe@uw.edu

1530-1600

 

The Pros and Cons of REBOA

Brian Beldowicz, MD
brian.beldowics@gmail.com

1230-1330

 

​1330-1345

Break and Dessert with the Exhibitors

1345-1445

 

1445-1500

Break

1500-1600

 

Day 2: Tuesday, September 15th, 2020

0700-0745

Registration and Breakfast with the Exhibitors

0745-0800

Welcome


Executive Director, ALNW

0800-0845

 

Pitfalls in Trauma Transfers

Sam Arbabi, MD
sarbabi@uw.edu

0845-0930

 

Pitfalls in Burn Transfers

Barclay Stewart, MD

0930-0950

Break and Coffee with the Exhibitors

0950-0955

Panel Discussion: (Sam Arbabi, MD - Moderator) Introductory Talk: The COVID-19 Response - Sam Arbabi, MD

Sam Arbabi, MD

0955-1020

 

Hospital Measures to Protect and Serve during the COVID Pandemic

John B Lynch, MD
jblynch@uw.edu

1020-1045

Scene Response in the Age of COVID

Thomas D Rea, MD
rea123@uw.edu

Michael Sayre, MD
sayrem@uw.edu

1045-1105

Regional Response to COVID: The RC3

Steven H Mitchell, MD
smitchel@uw.edu

1105-1130

Lessons Learned in Management of COVID Patients

Andrew M Luks, MD
aluks@uw.edu
​1120-1230 Lunch
1230-1600 Break Out Sessions (See Below)
 

Day 2 Break Out Sessions

1230-1330

Future directions of pre-hospital care: a panel discussion

Speakers:
Michael Sayre, MD (sayrem@uw.edu)
Thomas Rea, MD (rea123@uw.edu)

Moderators:
Andy McCoy, MD (mccoya2@uw.edu)
Andrew Latimer, MD (alatim@uw.edu)
Richard B Utarnachitt, MD (rutarnac@uw.edu)

1330-1345

Break and Dessert with the Exhibitors

1345-1415

 

Tips for caring for the critical pediatric patient in the pre-hospital environment

Jessica Wall, MD, MPH 
(jessica.wall@seattlechildrens.org)

1415-1445

Evaluation and management of spine injuries in the Wilderness Setting

Anna Condino, MD, MPH 
(acondino@gmail.com)

1445-1500

Break

1500-1530

Pre-hospital approach to Status Epilepticus

David Murphy, MD
(dlmurphy@uw.edu)

1530-1600

Ambulance off load delay's: impact on patient care

Miranda Lewis, MD
(mlewis@fresno.ucsf.edu)

1230-1300

What's New in Geriatric Trauma?

Bryce Robinson, MD
(brobinso@uw.edu)

1300-1330

Managing the Bariatric Trauma Patient

Rebecca Maine, MD
(rmaine@uw.edu)

1330-1345

Break and Dessert with the Exhibitors

1345-1415

Managing the Transgender Trauma Patient

Sam Mandell, MD
(mandells@uw.edu)

1415-1445

Pediatric Massive Transfusion Managment

Mary King, MD
(maryking@uw.edu)

1445-1500

Break

1500-1530

Orthopedic Injuries Suggestive of Child Abuse

Caitlin Crumm, MD
(caitlin.crumm@seattlechildrens.org)

1530-1600

Managing the Mental Health Consequences of Trauma

Deepika Nehra, MD
(deepikan@uw.edu)

1230-1330  
​1330-1345

Break and Dessert with the Exhibitors

1345-1445

 

1230-1330  
​1330-1345

Break and Dessert with the Exhibitors

1345-1445

 

1445-1500

Break

1500-1600