Bruce C. Gilliland Award

The UW School of Medicine is accepting nominations for the 2019 Bruce C. Gilliland Award for Excellence in Teaching of Residents and Fellows. The award recognizes outstanding teaching in graduate medical education in any specialty and at any training site in the UW system. Nominations are due by 5 p.m. on August 31, 2019.

The award is named for the late Dr. Bruce Gilliland, professor of medicine in the Division of Rheumatology and professor of laboratory medicine. He was known for his skills and compassion as a clinician, his many contributions to the field of rheumatology, his service as an administrator in the School of Medicine, and his dedication to teaching residents and fellows.

Candidates for this award should exemplify attributes similar to those that Dr. Gilliland demonstrated during his career in medicine. Candidates must be actively engaged in clinical and didactic training or in the implementation of graduate medical education curriculum. S/he/they should have demonstrated excellence in teaching over time and must have served for at least three years within UW Medicine or an affiliated training site as a teacher of residents and/or fellows. Nominations can be submitted by faculty and trainees involved in UW graduate medical education programs. Instructions for nominating a teacher are outlined in the nomination guidelines and application form (MS Word or PDF). If you have questions, please contact Tammy Ramirez (Box 358047, in the Office of Graduate Medical Education by August 31, 2019​.

The recipient will receive recognition and a financial award which will be placed in an academic account for the winner of this award. For people interested in contributing to the award fund honoring Dr. Gilliland, contact UW Medicine Development at 206.543.8207.

Past Bruce C. Gilliland Award Winners
2018 – Seine Chiang, MD, Professor and Residency Director, Obstetrics and Gynecology
2017 – Gregory C. Gardner, MD, Professor, Division of Rheumatology
2016 – Ronald L. Gibson, MD, Professor, Pediatrics
2015 – Edward D. Verrier, MD, Professor and Chair, Cardiothoracic Surgery
2013 – Richard P. Shugerman, MD, Professor, Pediatrics
2011 – Brian K. Ross, MD, Professor, Anesthesiology
2010 – Ben Danielson, MD, Clinical Professor, Pediatrics
2009 – Caroline Rhoads, MD, Associate Professor, Medicine
2008 – Charles A. Rohrmann, MD, Professor, Radiology