Visioning Stage

Timeframe: January-July 2012

Committee Chair:

Wylie Burke, MD, PhD - professor and chair, Bioethics and Humanities

Committee Members:


Ruth Ballweg, PA-C - director, MEDEX Northwest
Elizabeth Clark - medical student
John Clark - professor and chair, Biological Structure
Michael Duyzend - medical student
David L. Eaton, PhD - professor, Occupational and Health Sciences, School of Public Health
Richard Goss, MD - medical director, Harborview Medical Center
Molly B. Jackson, MD - assistant professor, Medicine
Rob Jones - medical student
Meera Kotagal, MD - resident, Surgery
Sheila Lukehart, PhD - assistant dean for Research and Graduate Education
Raye Maestas, MD - associate professor, Family Medicine
Sylvia Moore, PhD - former WWAMI assistant dean, Wyoming
Carlos Pellegrini, MD - Henry Harkins Professor and chair, Surgery
Lawrence Robinson, MD - vice dean for Clinical Affairs and Graduate Medical Education
Robert Waterston, PhD - professor and chair, Genome Science
Brenda Zierler, PhD - professor, Biobehavioral Nursing and Health Systems, School of Nursing
Suzanne Allen, MD, MPH - vice dean for Regional Affairs
Mary Barinaga, MD - assistant clinical dean for Idaho
Ellen Cosgrove, MD - vice dean for Academic Affairs
Erika Goldstein, MD, MPH - associate dean for the Colleges
Lynne Robins, PhD - professor, Biomedical Informatics & Medical Education
Michael Ryan, MD - associate dean for Curriculum
Andrew Turner, PhD - first year WWAMI dean, Idaho/Pullman
Marjorie Wenrich, MPH - chief of staff, UW Medicine

 Senior Advisors:

David Acosta, MD - chief Diversity officer
Daniel Graney, PhD - professor emeritus, Biological Structure
Marshall Horwitz, MD, PhD - professor, Pathology, director, MSTP Program
Roger Rosenblatt, MD, MPH - professor, Family Medicine
John Slattery, PhD - vice dean for Research & Graduate Education
Steven R. McGee, MD - professor, Medicine
Thomas Norris, MD - professor and chair, Family Medicine
Douglas Paauw, MD, - professor, Medicine; director of Medicine Student Programs

Charge from Paul Ramsey, UWSOM Dean

Develop the organizing principles and/or larger themes of the curriculum as we move into a continuous curriculum reform process.  Themes and organizing principles should reflect and take advantage of the unique strengths and foci of the UW School of Medicine, such as the WWAMI program, global health, the UW Medicine commitment to patient safety and quality, translational research preeminence, and other areas that advance our mission of improving health.


Overarching Aspirations:
The University of Washington School of Medicine helps all students achieve their highest potential to improve the health of the public, through an integrated and dynamic curriculum that emphasizes scientific foundations, humanism, the social context of disease, and discovery.

Guiding Principles:
  1. Our graduates are skilled physicians who are engaged, compassionate and committed to excellence.  
  2. Our teaching faculty are as dedicated to excellence in education as they are to excellence in their areas of expertise in science and/or medical care.
  3. Our teaching and learning philosophy and approaches recognize that all involved in medical education – students, faculty and patients – are both teachers and learners.
  4. The WWAMI program is a unique and vital core of the UW School of Medicine that values and models community, connectivity, commitment and service on behalf of meeting the needs of our region, especially by recognizing the importance of primary care and service to underserved populations.
  5. Our curriculum reflects the continuous and lifelong nature of medical education that is linked to improving the care of patients and communities.
  6. The curriculum will be implemented and continuously improved through a new collaborative governance system.
  7. Our new curriculum will have an innovative model with three integrated phases:  a scientific foundations phase, a clinical foundations phase, and a career preparation phase. 
Final Report​