Awards presented by the Graduating Class

Award Nominations

The following awards are bestowed annually to faculty, staff, and fellow classmates by the graduating class. Nominations are solicited and the final voting process occurs in the winter prior to graduation. Results are announced in the spring prior to the ceremony.

Ellen Griep Award

This award was established by the class of 1983 with the intent that subsequent classes honor a classmate who has provided inspiration to his or her peers, staff, and faculty by successfully managing both the academic demands of medical education and continued excellence in other endeavors in his or her life. This award carries with it a monetary award for personal use.

Margaret S. Anderson Award

This award was established by the graduating class of 1982 to honor a deserving staff or faculty member who has shown exceptional concern for and support of medical students.

Previous award recipients are ineligible for further consideration and include the following current UW faculty/staff:
Mary Lambeth, Diane Noecker, Daniel Olson, Constance Lamb, Drs., Michael Copass, Hugh Foy, Erika Goldstein, Daniel Hunt, Michael Laskowski, Carol MacLaren, Thomas McCormick, Steven McGee, Terry Mengert, Raye Maestas, Douglas Paauw, Paul Ramsey, Timothy Pohlman, John Sheffield, Sherilyn Smith, Mark Wicks, Andrew Luks, Jamey Cheek, Sarah Wood, Tara Gates, and Emily Slager.

Distinguished Teacher Awards

These awards recognize four faculty whom the graduating class recognizes as being outstanding teachers. These awards are intended to include teachers involved in all types of WWAMI education, including but not limited to basic science courses, clerkships, electives, R/UOP, and preceptorships. The recipients of these awards are determined by both votes and written assessments from the graduating class on their quality of teaching. These awards carry a monetary award for classroom and teaching use. Faculty who receive this award four times are recognized as Teachers Superior in Perpetuity and are considered ineligible for further consideration.