Nobel Prize Laureates in Physiology or Medicine

‚ÄčEvery year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in physics, chemistry, physiology or medicine, literature and peace. The Nobel Prize is an international award administered by the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, Sweden. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. Each prize consists of a medal, personal diploma, and a cash award.


Linda B. Buck for discoveries of odorant receptors and the organization of the olfactory system


Leland H. Hartwell for discoveries of key regulators of the cell cycle


Edmond H. Fischer and the late Edwin G. Krebs for discoveries concerning reversible protein phosphorylation as a biological regulatory mechanism.


The late E. Donnall Thomas for discoveries concerning organ and cell transplantation in the treatment of human disease 

Read about the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.