UWMC U.S. News & World Report 

No. 1 hospital in Seattle metro area, No. 1 in Washington

Since 2012, UW Medical Center’s patient care has been ranked No. 1 in the state and in the Seattle metro area by U.S. News & World Report. In the most current rankings, for 2016-17, UW Medical Center is ranked among the nation's top 20 hospitals in four specialties: rehabilitation (No. 4), cancer (No. 7, provided jointly with Seattle Cancer Care Alliance), ear, nose and throat (No. 16), and geriatrics (No. 20).

UW Medical Center received a national “high performing” designation in these specific conditions and procedures:

  • Abdominal aortic aneurysm repair
  • Aortic valve surgery
  • Heart-bypass surgery
  • Heart failure
  • Colon cancer surgery
  • Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease
  • Knee replacement
  • Lung cancer surgery

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Aetna Institute of Quality for Cardiac Medical Intervention

UW Medical Center has been designated an Aetna Institute of Quality for Cardiac Medical Intervention. This designation reflects the broad scope of services and excellent outcomes in every aspect of procedural cardiac care provided at UWMC through UW Medicine’s Regional Heart Center.

Aetna selects cardiac care facilities as Institutes of Quality based on measures of clinical performance, access and efficiency for cardiac care. As part of the cardiac care network, UWMC is a preferred site of care for Aetna members and all of its insurance products.

2011 Practice Greenhealth Environmental Leadership Award

UW Medical Center has won its fifth consecutive Environmental Leadership Circle Award from Practice Greenhealth, a national organization that recognizes environmentally responsible operations within healthcare. As the highest of eight award categories, the leadership award is the most competitive. Eligible facilities must demonstrate leadership in environmental practices and sustainability, meet mercury-free criteria, and recycle at least 25 percent of their total waste.​

Excellence in Transplantation Care

Transplantation silver medal image  

UW Medical Center was the nation’s only hospital to earn two silver-level awards in 2010 for outstanding transplantation care from the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). 

On Nov. 4, HRSA distributed one gold (Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Fla.), 10 silvers and 148 bronzes to U.S. hospitals based on scores in transplant rate, patient mortality while awaiting a donor organ, and postoperative survival. UWMC’s kidney and liver transplant programs earned silvers, and its kidney/pancreas transplant program earned a bronze. No other Pacific Northwest transplant service earned silver, though several received bronze awards.

Transplant team members include surgeons, residents, physician assistants, nurses, social workers, pharmacists, dietitians and coordinators. UWMC performs 90 to 110 kidney transplants per year, with 35 to 40 kidneys coming from live donors. Transplant teams also perform from 70 to 100 liver transplants each year. UWMC's other transplantation services include heart, lung, and heart-lung. 

National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (NSQIP) Meritorious Status

The American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (NSQIP) has once again given the UW Medical Center "Meritorious Status"—a qualification given to the top performing hospitals in surgery (in this case general and vascular) in the United States. The hospital was given an outstanding composite score in the outcome areas of mortality, cardiac, respiratory (pneumonia), unplanned intubation, ventilator more than 48 hours, renal failure, surgical site infection and urinary tract infection from Jan. 1, 2014-Dec. 31, 2014. The American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program is the only nationally validated quality improvement program that measures and enhances the care of surgical patients.

'Baby-Friendly' site encourages breastfeeding

UW Medical Center has been designated as a Baby-Friendly birth facility. It is the first medical center in Seattle to receive this recognition.

Baby-Friendly is a global program sponsored by the World Health Organization and the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) created to encourage and recognize health-care facilities that offer an optimal level of care for breastfeeding mothers and their babies.

This designation, based on the "Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding," is significant to patient care because it helps mothers and babies become more successful at breastfeeding. When hospitals practice even six or seven of the steps, mothers are six times more likely to achieve their intention to exclusively breastfeed compared to mothers who gave birth in a hospital that didn't practice these steps.

More than 19,000 health care facilities around the globe have received the Baby-Friendly designation, including 84 hospitals and birth centers in the United States. 

First six-time recipient of Magnet Hospital certification

Nursing Magnet Award Logo 

The American Nurses Credentialing Center’s Magnet designation indicates that UWMC has one of the most desirable environments for nursing practice. This strengthens our recruitment and retention of highly qualified professionals in nursing as well as in other health-care disciplines. UWMC was the first hospital to receive this honor in 1994 in recognition of excellence in nursing and has received it every four years since. Read more about UWMC's Magnet designation here.

Seattle Business Magazine

Dr. David Flum, UW professor of surgery, received the award for Outstanding Health Care Professional from Seattle Business Magazine. As director of the UW Surgical Outcomes Research Center, Flum is a leader in the effort to use outcomes data to improve surgical care.

He also serves as medical director for the Surgical Care and Outcomes Assessment Program (SCOAP), a statewide initiative to implement a standardized surgical checklist at every hospital in Washington. 

Washington State Quality Award: Leadership Level

Washington State Quality Award logo  

UW Medical Center received a 2007 Washington State Quality Award at the Leadership level. WSQA, the nonprofit authorized by the Legislature to grant the awards, uses Malcolm Baldrige Criteria for Performance Excellence and has recognized high-performing organizations for 13 years.