UW School of Medicine Members, National Academy of Medicine

​​​The National Academy of Medicine (NAM)​ is an American non-profit, non-governmental organization founded in 1970, under the congressional charter of the National Academy of Sciences. The IOM is part of the United States National Academies, which also includes the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) National Academy of Engineering (NAE) and National Research Council (NRC).
Its purpose is to provide national advice on issues relating to biomedical science, medicine, and health, and its mission to serve as adviser to the nation to improve health. It works outside the framework of the U.S. federal government to provide independent guidance and analysis and relies on a volunteer workforce of scientists and other experts, operating under a rigorous, formal peer-review system.
The following individuals within the UW School Of Medicine are members of the National Academy of Medicine (previously known as the Institute of Medicine):

  • Janis L. Abkowitz,  professor of hematology and genome sciences
  • Fred R. Applebaum, professor of medical oncology
  • Alfred O. Berg, professor of family medicine
  • Linda Buck, affiliate professor of physiology and biophysics
  • Wylie G. Burke, professor and chair of bioethics & humanities
  • William A. Catterall, professor and chair of pharmacology
  • Lawrence Corey, professor of medicine, laboratory medicine, and microbiology
  • Mickey S. Eisenberg, professor of medicine, Division of Emergency Medical Services
  • Christopher Elias, clinical professor of global health
  • Neil J. Elgee, clinical professor emeritus of medicine
  • John P. Geyman, professor emeritus of family medicine
  • Mark T. Groudine, professor of radiation oncology
  • Maxine Hayes, clinical professor of pediatrics
  • William R. Hazzard, professor of medicine, Division of Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine
  • Bertil Hille, professor of physiology and biophysics
  • King K. Holmes, professor of medicine, Division of Allergy and Infectious Disease
  • Leroy Hood, affiliate professor of genome science, immunology, and bioengineering
  • Thomas F. Hornbein, professor emeritus of anesthesiology and of physiology and biophysics
  • Dean Jamison,  professor of global health
  • Albert Jonsen, professor emeritus of medical history and ethics
  • Mary-Claire King, professor of genome sciences and of medicine, Division of Medical Genetics
  • Seymour J. Klebanoff, professor emeritus of medicine, Division of Allergy and Infectious Disease
  • Eric B. Larson, clinical professor of medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine
  • George Martin, professor emeritus of pathology
  • Daniel Masys, affiliate professor of biomedical and health informatics
  • Arno Motulsky, professor emeritus of genome sciences and of medicine, Division of Medical Genetics
  • Christopher J.L. Murray, professor of global health
  • Bruce M. Psaty, professor of epidemilogy
  • Bonnie W. Ramsey, professor of pediatrics
  • Paul G. Ramsey, CEO of UW Medicine, dean of the UW School of Medicine, and professor of medicine
  • Frederick P. Rivara, professor of pediatrics
  • ​Cornelius Rosse, professor emeritus of biological structure
  • Andy Stergachis, professor of global health
  • Judy N. Wasserheit, professor of medicine and global health, and chair, global health
  • Robert H. Waterston, professor and chair of genome sciences and William Gates III Chair of Genome Sciences

Updated October 21, 2015